Museum Folkwang
Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien
  • Rafael de Ochoa y Madrazo
  • Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien, 1899

  • World's Fair 1900 Transsiberian Express
  • 76 x 103 cm
  • Printing Press Imprimerie Lemercier, Paris
  • Permanent loan of the collection Reisen in Luxus, Essen
  • Inv. DPM DL 152
  • CommentaryAfter Hugo d’Alési (1849-1906), Rafael de Ochoa defined how posters for luxury travel looked for many years. The images he developed set a style: In the detailed nature of the design he followed the dominant current in painting – in forming the details, however, he avoided overly detailed image in favor of a field resolution. Even with the richness of picture and text, this led to an easier viewing of the total.

    The Compagnie Internationale des Wagon-Lits, which ran the Transsiberian Express, exhibited at the Paris World’s Fair of 1900 a few of the wagons of the express train in service since 1898. A special feature of the presentation was the dining car which offered Russian and Chinese specialties, with a panoramic picture rolling past. This showed landscapes, cities and their attractions from the Moscow-Beijing* line providing an exceptional illusion of travelling.

    The poster shows some of these places, for example the Kremlin in Moscow, the Great Wall of China, the entrance gate to the summer palace park in Beijing and gives a view of the restaurant. With the number of motifs and the pictorially narrated reproduction of the themes, the poster stands in the tradition of advertising for luxury trains. This is not surprising as the poster was ordered by the Compagnie Internationale des Wagon-Lits, which ran the Transsiberian Express.

    *Starting in 1898, the Transsiberian Express initially covered the route Moscow-Tomsk, with the North-Express (from 1899 to Warsaw, from 1909 to Moscow) providing the connection to Paris. Travel time Paris-Beijing in 1903: 24 days).
  • Obj_Id: 35,429
  • Obj_Internet_S: ja
  • Obj_Ownership_S (Verantw):German Poster Museum
  • Obj_SpareNField01_N (Verantw): 242
  • Obj_Creditline_S:
  • Obj_Title1_S: Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien
  • Obj_Title2_S: World's Fair 1900 Transsiberian Express
  • Obj_PartDescription_S (Titelerg):
  • Obj_SpareMField01_M (Alle Titel): Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien World's Fair 1900 Transsiberian Express Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien Weltausstellung 1900 Transsibirien-Express Frankreich, Paris
  • Obj_Dating_S: 1899
  • Jahr von: 1,899
  • Jahr bis: 1,899
  • Obj_IdentNr_S: DPM DL 152
  • Obj_IdentNrSort_S: DPM DL 152
  • Obj_Classification_S (Objtyp): Poster
  • Obj_Crate_S: 76 x 103 cm
  • Obj_Material_S:
  • Obj_Technique_S:
  • Obj_SpareSField01_S (Mat./Tech.):
  • Obj_AccNote_S (Erwerb): Permanent loan of the collection Reisen in Luxus, Essen
  • Obj_PermanentLocation_S (Standort):
  • Obj_Condition1_S (Druckerei): Imprimerie Lemercier, Paris
  • Obj_Condition2_S (Auflage):
  • Obj_Subtype_S (Genre):
  • Obj_Rights_S: © Museum Folkwang, Essen
Commentary
Artists

After Hugo d’Alési (1849-1906), Rafael de Ochoa defined how posters for luxury travel looked for many years. The images he developed set a style: In the detailed nature of the design he followed the dominant current in painting – in forming the details, however, he avoided overly detailed image in favor of a field resolution. Even with the richness of picture and text, this led to an easier viewing of the total.

The Compagnie Internationale des Wagon-Lits, which ran the Transsiberian Express, exhibited at the Paris World’s Fair of 1900 a few of the wagons of the express train in service since 1898. A special feature of the presentation was the dining car which offered Russian and Chinese specialties, with a panoramic picture rolling past. This showed landscapes, cities and their attractions from the Moscow-Beijing* line providing an exceptional illusion of travelling.

The poster shows some of these places, for example the Kremlin in Moscow, the Great Wall of China, the entrance gate to the summer palace park in Beijing and gives a view of the restaurant. With the number of motifs and the pictorially narrated reproduction of the themes, the poster stands in the tradition of advertising for luxury trains. This is not surprising as the poster was ordered by the Compagnie Internationale des Wagon-Lits, which ran the Transsiberian Express.

*Starting in 1898, the Transsiberian Express initially covered the route Moscow-Tomsk, with the North-Express (from 1899 to Warsaw, from 1909 to Moscow) providing the connection to Paris. Travel time Paris-Beijing in 1903: 24 days).

Museum Folkwang
Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien
  • Rafael de Ochoa y Madrazo
  • Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien, 1899

  • Weltausstellung 1900 Transsibirien-Express
  • Frankreich, Paris
  • Farblithografie
  • 76 x 103 cm
  • Druckerei Imprimerie Lemercier, Paris
  • Dauerleihgabe aus der Sammlung Reisen in Luxus, Essen
  • Inv.-Nr. DPM DL 152
  • Text zum WerkRafael de Ochoa bestimmte nach Hugo d’Alesi (1849-1906) das Aussehen der Plakate für das Reisen in Luxus über viele Jahre. Seine Bildfindungen waren stilbildend. In der Kleinteiligkeit des Entwurfs entsprach er der vorherrschenden malerischen Gestaltungsrichtung – in der Ausformung der Details jedoch vermied er, zu Gunsten einer flächigen Auflösung, eine detailreiche und ausgeprägte Binnenzeichnung. Dies führte – bei aller Bild- und Textfülle – zu einer leichteren Gesamtwahrnehmung.

    Die Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-Lits stellte als Betreiberin des Transsibierien-Express einige Wagen des 1898 in Dienst genommenen Expresszuges auf der Pariser Weltausstellung von 1900 aus. Besonderheit der Präsentation war ein Speisewagen, der russische und chinesische Spezialitäten anbot und an dem ein Panaroma vorbeigeführt wurde. Dieses zeigte Landschaften, Städte und deren Attraktionen der Strecke Moskau – Peking*, so dass eine besondere Illusion des Reisens vermittelt wurde.

    Das Plakat zeigt einige dieser Orte, so etwa den Kreml in Moskau, die chinesische Mauer, das Eingangstor zum Park des Sommerpalastes in Peking und gibt einen Einblick in das Restaurant. In der Fülle der Motive und der malerisch erzählerischen Wiedergabe des Themas steht das Blatt ganz in der Tradition der Werbung für Luxuszüge. Dies verwundert nicht, ist doch der Auftraggeber der Betreiber des Transsibirien-Express, die Compagnie Internationale des Wagons Lits.


    * der Transibirien-Express befuhr seit 1898 zunächst die Strecke Moskau – Tomsk, als Zubringer Paris – Moskau fungierte der Nord-Express (ab 1899 bis Warschau, ab 1909 bis Moskau; Reisezeit Paris – Peking im Jahre 1903: 24 Tage)
  • Obj_Id: 1'035'429
  • Obj_Internet_S: ja
  • Obj_Ownership_S (Verantw):Deutsches Plakat Museum
  • Obj_SpareNField01_N (Verantw): 242
  • Obj_Creditline_S:
  • Obj_Title1_S: Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien
  • Obj_Title2_S: Weltausstellung 1900 Transsibirien-Express
  • Obj_PartDescription_S (Titelerg): Frankreich, Paris
  • Obj_SpareMField01_M (Alle Titel): Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien World's Fair 1900 Transsiberian Express Exposition Universelle de 1900 / Transsibérien Weltausstellung 1900 Transsibirien-Express Frankreich, Paris
  • Obj_Dating_S: 1899
  • Jahr von: 1'899
  • Jahr bis: 1'899
  • Obj_IdentNr_S: DPM DL 152
  • Obj_IdentNrSort_S: DPM DL 152
  • Obj_Classification_S (Objtyp): Plakat
  • Obj_Crate_S: 76 x 103 cm
  • Obj_Material_S:
  • Obj_Technique_S: Farblithografie
  • Obj_SpareSField01_S (Mat./Tech.): Farblithografie
  • Obj_AccNote_S (Erwerb): Dauerleihgabe aus der Sammlung Reisen in Luxus, Essen
  • Obj_PermanentLocation_S (Standort):
  • Obj_Condition1_S (Druckerei): Imprimerie Lemercier, Paris
  • Obj_Condition2_S (Auflage):
  • Obj_Subtype_S (Genre):
  • Obj_Rights_S: © Museum Folkwang, Essen
Text zum Werk
Künstler

Rafael de Ochoa bestimmte nach Hugo d’Alesi (1849-1906) das Aussehen der Plakate für das Reisen in Luxus über viele Jahre. Seine Bildfindungen waren stilbildend. In der Kleinteiligkeit des Entwurfs entsprach er der vorherrschenden malerischen Gestaltungsrichtung – in der Ausformung der Details jedoch vermied er, zu Gunsten einer flächigen Auflösung, eine detailreiche und ausgeprägte Binnenzeichnung. Dies führte – bei aller Bild- und Textfülle – zu einer leichteren Gesamtwahrnehmung.

Die Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-Lits stellte als Betreiberin des Transsibierien-Express einige Wagen des 1898 in Dienst genommenen Expresszuges auf der Pariser Weltausstellung von 1900 aus. Besonderheit der Präsentation war ein Speisewagen, der russische und chinesische Spezialitäten anbot und an dem ein Panaroma vorbeigeführt wurde. Dieses zeigte Landschaften, Städte und deren Attraktionen der Strecke Moskau – Peking*, so dass eine besondere Illusion des Reisens vermittelt wurde.

Das Plakat zeigt einige dieser Orte, so etwa den Kreml in Moskau, die chinesische Mauer, das Eingangstor zum Park des Sommerpalastes in Peking und gibt einen Einblick in das Restaurant. In der Fülle der Motive und der malerisch erzählerischen Wiedergabe des Themas steht das Blatt ganz in der Tradition der Werbung für Luxuszüge. Dies verwundert nicht, ist doch der Auftraggeber der Betreiber des Transsibirien-Express, die Compagnie Internationale des Wagons Lits.


* der Transibirien-Express befuhr seit 1898 zunächst die Strecke Moskau – Tomsk, als Zubringer Paris – Moskau fungierte der Nord-Express (ab 1899 bis Warschau, ab 1909 bis Moskau; Reisezeit Paris – Peking im Jahre 1903: 24 Tage)