Museum Folkwang
Hohlwelt
  • Dorothee Golz
  • Hohlwelt, 1996

  • Hollow World I
  • Hollow Sphere with Interior, Plastic Foil, Iron, Latex Paste, Blower
  • 200 cm Ø
  • Inv. P 249
  • CommentaryThe sculptor Dorothee Golz gained an international reputation with the sculpture ›Hohlwelt I‹ which she exhibited at the ›documenta X‹ in Kassel in 1997. The sculpture consists of a plastic ball with different white elements inside: a freely moving chair, a table-like element and an amorphous, unidentifiable form from which various spherical bulges stick out. Linking well-known forms with elements that avoid precise definition is a principle of the artist’s sculptural work.
    The ball formulates a view of an interior world, completely visible, as if looking through a ›fish-eye‹. A view of the interior suggests that the world and our interior world can be seen as mutually dependent reflections.
    People, according to Dorothee Golz, should »be aware that there is a world of thought, a notional world, that exists parallel to the real, tangible one. Parallel to what we see, what surrounds us, there is an inner version of what we experience. […] This something, however, is part of our sensing and imagining reality and truth.«
    The sculpture exists in different variations, distinguished by diverse interiors: ›Hohlwelt I‹ (1996), ›Hohlwelt II‹ (1997), ›Hohlwelt III‹, ›Hohlwelt IV‹ and a ›Doppelhohlwelt‹ (all these from 1999).
  • Provenance2000, Dorothea Goltz
  • Obj_Id: 8,451
  • Obj_Internet_S: ja
  • Obj_Ownership_S (Verantw):Painting, Sculpture, Media Art
  • Obj_SpareNField01_N (Verantw): 188
  • Obj_Creditline_S: Skulpturensammlung
  • Obj_Title1_S: Hohlwelt
  • Obj_Title2_S: Hollow World I
  • Obj_PartDescription_S (Titelerg):
  • Obj_SpareMField01_M (Alle Titel): Hohlwelt Hollow World I Hohlwelt
  • Obj_Dating_S: 1996
  • Jahr von: 1,996
  • Jahr bis: 1,996
  • Obj_IdentNr_S: P 249
  • Obj_IdentNrSort_S: P 0249
  • Obj_Classification_S (Objtyp): Sculpture
  • Obj_Crate_S: 200 cm Ø
  • Obj_Material_S: Hollow Sphere with Interior, Plastic Foil, Iron, Latex Paste, Blower
  • Obj_Technique_S:
  • Obj_SpareSField01_S (Mat./Tech.): Hollow Sphere with Interior, Plastic Foil, Iron, Latex Paste, Blower
  • Obj_AccNote_S (Erwerb):
  • Obj_PermanentLocation_S (Standort):
  • Obj_Condition1_S (Druckerei):
  • Obj_Condition2_S (Auflage):
  • Obj_Subtype_S (Genre):
  • Obj_Rights_S: © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017
Commentary
Artists
Provenance

2000, Dorothea Goltz

Museum Folkwang
Hohlwelt
  • Dorothee Golz
  • Hohlwelt, 1996

  • Hohlkugel mit Interieur, Plastikfolie, Eisen, Latexpaste, Gebläse
  • 200 cm Ø
  • Inv.-Nr. P 249
  • Text zum WerkInternational bekannt wurde die aus Mülheim stammende Bildhauerin Dorothee Golz mit der Skulptur ›Hohlwelt‹, die sie auf der ›documentaX‹ 1997 in Kassel ausstellte. Die Skulptur besteht aus einer Kunststoffblase, in der sich verschiedene weiße Elemente befinden: ein frei schwingender Stuhl, ein tischartiges Element und eine amorphe undefinierbare Form, aus der verschiedene kugelartige Verdickungen herausgebildet sind. Vertraute Formen aus der Alltagswelt mit nicht präzise zu definierenden Elementen zu verknüpfen, ist ein skulpturales Arbeitsprinzip der Künstlerin.

    Die Blase formuliert die Ansicht einer Innenwelt, vollständig sichtbar, wie durch ein ›Fischauge‹ gesehen. Dieser in das Innere gerichtete Blick verweist darauf, dass die Welt und das, was wir in uns tragen, als aufeinanderbedingte Reflexionen gesehen werden können.
    Dem Menschen, so Dorothea Golz, soll »bewußt werden, daß es eine Welt des Denkens gibt, eine gedachte Welt, die neben der realen, der greifbaren existiert. Parallel zu dem, was wir sehen, was um uns herum da ist, gibt es eine innere Auffassung dessen, was wir erleben.[…] Dieses Etwas hat aber Anteil an unserem Empfinden und an unserer Vorstellung von Realität und Wahrheit.«

    Von der Skulptur existieren verschiedene Varianten, die sich durch unterschiedliche Interieurs auszeichnen: Hohlwelt I (1996) Hohlwelt II (1997), Hohlwelt III, Hohlwelt IV und eine Doppelhohlwelt (diese alle 1999).
  • Provenienz2000, Dorothea Goltz
  • Obj_Id: 1'008'451
  • Obj_Internet_S: ja
  • Obj_Ownership_S (Verantw):Malerei, Skulptur, Medienkunst
  • Obj_SpareNField01_N (Verantw): 188
  • Obj_Creditline_S: Skulpturensammlung
  • Obj_Title1_S: Hohlwelt
  • Obj_Title2_S:
  • Obj_PartDescription_S (Titelerg):
  • Obj_SpareMField01_M (Alle Titel): Hohlwelt Hollow World I Hohlwelt
  • Obj_Dating_S: 1996
  • Jahr von: 1'996
  • Jahr bis: 1'996
  • Obj_IdentNr_S: P 249
  • Obj_IdentNrSort_S: P 0249
  • Obj_Classification_S (Objtyp): Plastik/Skulptur
  • Obj_Crate_S: 200 cm Ø
  • Obj_Material_S: Hohlkugel mit Interieur, Plastikfolie, Eisen, Latexpaste, Gebläse
  • Obj_Technique_S:
  • Obj_SpareSField01_S (Mat./Tech.): Hohlkugel mit Interieur, Plastikfolie, Eisen, Latexpaste, Gebläse
  • Obj_AccNote_S (Erwerb):
  • Obj_PermanentLocation_S (Standort):
  • Obj_Condition1_S (Druckerei):
  • Obj_Condition2_S (Auflage):
  • Obj_Subtype_S (Genre):
  • Obj_Rights_S: © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017
Text zum Werk
Künstler
Provenienz

2000, Dorothea Goltz