Museum Folkwang
  • Japanese Theatre Masks

  • The collection of Japanese theater masks in the Museum Folkwang contains 29 objects and is thus among the largest holding of this type in Europe. Half of the collection is of Nô dance theater masks and the other of Kyôgen comedy masks. Nô and Kyôgen belong together and embody contrasts; they characterize seriousness and laughter, pathos and parody, the spiritual world and life on earth.
    In contrast with their original use in popular religious theater, the use and significance of these masks changed under the influence of the nobles who carried on the theater tradition. Use of masks in Nô and especially in Kyôgen was strictly limited In Nô, only the leading figure Shite and his companions wore masks, in Kyôgen masks were only used in a few pieces.
    The face masks are made from wood with much inlay work, come primarily from the 16th to the 19th centuries and show various traces of use. The smaller-than-life-sized masks do not quite cover the human face; the actor embodying a character on the stage remains visible under the mask.

    The collection features two particularly exquisite kyôgen masks from different periods, portraying a plain, not particularly pretty woman and known as oto or okame. The okame as a woman’s mask is representative of the kyôgen, while the ›ko-omote‹ mask, which also depicts a young woman and may be by the renowned woodcarver Kodama Omi who died in 1704, is the definitive female mask for the Nô form of theatre. We find a transformed version of this beautiful young woman into a crazy old lady in the ›deigan‹ mask (gold-painted eyes), which could be the work of woodcarver Deme Kogenkyû Mitsunaga (died 1672), a teacher of Kodama Omi. The technique on the inside of the mask may also suggest it is the work of the master Deme Tōhaku, who died in 1715.

    In the late 19th century Japanese arts and crafts gained great popularity in Europe. Japan had succeeded in maintaining its political and cultural sovereignty after the USA forced the country to open its doors to trade and in aligning its economy with Western industrialization. Now for the first time, Japanese objects were finding their way onto the European art market that had not been made for export, and were also highly valued at home. Like other contemporary artists, Düsseldorf Kunstakademie Professor and painter Benjamin Vautier built up an extensive collection of theatre masks, which he bequeathed to Museum Folkwang.
  • Exh_Title_S: Japanese Theatre Masks
  • Exh_Id: 500
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Archaeology, Global Art, Applied Arts
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 185
Works
Jûroku oder Waka-otoko
Ko-omote
Deigan
  • Deme Kogenkyû Mitsunaga (gest. 1672) oder Deme Tôhaku Mitsutaka
  • Deigan, 17. Jh.

  • Facial mask for Noh Theatre
    Bleary-eyed, old madwoman
  • Inv. KPL 62
Oto-goze / Okame
Noborihige
Nô-Gewand (atsuita-karaori)

Museum Folkwang
  • Japanische Theatermasken

  • Die Sammlung japanischer Theatermasken – Larven – im Museum Folkwang umfasst 29 Objekte und zählt damit zu den größeren Beständen dieser Art in Europa. Die Sammlung setzt sich je zur Hälfte aus Larven des mittelalterlichen Tanztheaters Nô und der Komödie Kyôgen zusammen. Nô und Kyôgen gehören zusammen und verkörpern Gegensätze; sie charakterisieren Ernst und Lachen, Pathos und Parodie, Geisterwelt und Diesseits.
    Gegenüber ihrem ursprünglichen Gebrauch in religiösen Volkstheatern veränderte sich die Verwendung und Bedeutung dieser Masken unter dem Einfluss der Fürsten, welche die Tradition des Theaters fortführten. Der Gebrauch der Larven im Nô und besonders im Kyôgen wurde stark eingeschränkt. Im Nô durfte nur der führende Spieler Shite sowie sein Begleiter Gesichtsmasken tragen, im Kyôgen kommen die Masken nur in wenigen Stücken zum Einsatz.
    Die Gesichtsmasken sind aus gefasstem Holz hergestellt, stammen mehrheitlich aus dem 16. bis 19. Jahrhundert und weisen unterschiedliche Gebrauchsspuren auf. Die unterlebensgroßen Larven bedecken das menschliche Gesicht nicht ganz; unter der Maskierung bleibt der Spieler, der die Figur zum Leben auf der Bühne erweckt, selbst sichtbar.

    In der Sammlung haben sich zwei unterschiedlich zu datierende, besonders fein gearbeitete Kyôgen-Larven erhalten, die eine einfache, nicht so schöne Frau darstellen und Oto oder auch Okame genannt werden. Die Okame als Frauenmaske ist repräsentativ für das Kyôgen, während die Larve Ko-omote, die ebenfalls eine junge Frau darstellt und möglicherweise von dem namhaften, 1704 gestorbenen Schnitzer Kodama Ômi stammt, als die prägende Frauenlarve für das Nô steht. Eine Verwandlung dieser jungen und schönen Frau in eine ältere, wahnsinnige, begegnet uns in der Larve Deigan (Schmutzauge), die von dem Schnitzer Deme Kogenkyû Mitsunaga (gestorben 1672) stammen könnte, einem Lehrer Kodama Ômis. Die Technik der Rückseitenbearbeitung verweist möglicherweise auch auf die Hand des 1715 verstorbenen Meisters Deme Tôhaku.

    Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erlangte japanisches Kunsthandwerk in Europa große Beliebtheit. Japan war es gelungen, nach der erzwungenen Öffnung des Landes durch die USA, seine politische und kulturelle Souveränität zu bewahren und die Wirtschaft der westlichen Industrialisierung anzugleichen. Erstmals gelangten nun Objekte aus Japan auf den Europäischen Kunstmarkt, die nicht für den Export produziert worden waren, sondern auch dort hoch geschätzt wurden. Wie andere zeitgenössische Künstler hatte auch der Düsseldorfer Akademieprofessor und Maler Benjamin Vautier eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Theatermasken erworben, die aus seinem Nachlass in das Museum Folkwang gelangten.
  • Exh_Title_S: Japanische Theatermasken
  • Exh_Id: 100'500
  • Exh_Comment_S (Verantw): Archäologie, Weltkunst, Kunstgewerbe
  • Exh_SpareNField01_N (Verantw ID): 185
Werke
Jûroku oder Waka-otoko
Ko-omote
Deigan
  • Deme Kogenkyû Mitsunaga (gest. 1672) oder Deme Tôhaku Mitsutaka
  • Deigan, 17. Jh.

  • Gesichtsmaske für das Nô-Theater
    Schmutzauge, ältere wahnsinnige Frau
  • Inv.-Nr. KPL 62
Oto-goze / Okame
Noborihige
Nô-Gewand (atsuita-karaori)